Monday, January 3, 2011

Patrick Cobbs wins Dolphins' 2010 Ed Block Courage Award

Miami Dolphins running back Patrick Cobbs has been awarded the team's 2010 Ed Block Courage Award as voted by his teammates.

The annual award, which has members of every NFL team select one of their teammates, is awarded to those who are "role models of inspiration, sportsmanship, and courage."

Guard Justin Smiley, who is now with the Jacksonville Jaguars, won the award with Miami in 2009 for appearing in 15 games (12 starts) after suffering a broken leg the season before.

The Dolphins' special teams captain in 2010, Cobbs appeared in all 16 games this past season after missing 11 games in 2009 due to a torn ACL in his knee. It was just the second time in his five-year career Cobbs played in all 16 games, with the first being in 2008.

Cobbs served as a backup running back, kickoff returner, and core special teams player for the Dolphins in 2010, racking up 91 receiving yards, two receiving touchdowns, 448 kickoff return yards, and seven special teams tackles.

Originally undrafted out of North Texas in 2005, Cobbs signed with the New England Patriots as an undrafted free agent before being traded to the Pittsburgh Steelers on Sept. 1.

The Steelers later waived Cobbs after one game and were unable to re-sign him to the practice squad, as he opted to join the Dolphins' practice squad instead. Cobbs was promoted to the Dolphins' active roster in late November and has remained with the team ever since.

Cobbs has long been one of the most respected Dolphins by his teammates and has been singled out numerous times by head coach Tony Sparano has the hardest worker on the team.

The five-year pro has appeared in 54 games (three starts) and totaled 171 rushing yards, 409 receiving yards, six offensive touchdowns, and 23 tackles.

Signed to a two-year contract extension in 2008, Cobbs made $775,000 in 2010 is set to become an unrestricted free agent in the 2011 offseason.

Discuss this article on the forum here!